School Board welcomes three new members

  • Spokane Public Schools welcomed three new board members Dec. 11 to fill the seats of those who left the board after serving more than 23 years collectively. 

    Superintendent Shelley Redinger swore in new board members Nikki Lockwood, Kevin Morrison, and Jenny Slagle. Elected in November, Lockwood and Slagle will serve six-year terms, while Morrison will fill the final two years of an unexpired term.

    Former directors Deana Brower (8 years), Brian Newberry (2 years), and Sue Chapin (13 years), who served most recently as board president, made the difficult decision to leave the board when their terms expired.

    The new board elected Jerrall Haynes as president and Mike Wiser as vice president as its first official act during the meeting on Dec. 11.